mooool Interview | W Workspace – Architectural Photography


 

W Workspace –  Architectural Photography

Chief editor : Kejun Chen
Executive editor : Hailee Chen

W Workspace was founded in 2008 by Wison Tungthunya, a full-time photographer, with projects in Thailand even around Asia. There’re about a quarter of the shooting works are led or involved by W Workspace among the Thai projects on mooool website. They take photography not only of architecture but also of landscape and interior. Wison chose to be a photographer immediately after graduated from faculty of architecture. He started to be a professional photographer for art4d magazine since 1997, then turned to explore other fields such as Graphic design, Character design, Product design, Advertising, Branding and so on, with the rich experiences, he can often create refreshing photography works.

 

 

Interview content:

Q:You are an architect before and also explored in Graphic design, Character design, Advertising, Branding and other fields as we all know. What kind of attraction of architectural photography to you?

A:To experience good architecture is what I love. My background gives me the way to understand what architects think in terms of design process. I enjoy that. The architectural photography gives me a great chance to do that in a way that I can enjoy architecture and capture those moments. I think this is a pretty good deal for me.

 

Q:How many people on your team? And what is the division of everyone?

A:I started from a team of two, me and my assistant. Back then I did most of the works, shooting – post-processing – retouching (if need be). Right now we have 8 people including myself. We usually go on a team of 3 on each shooting day. For my team, actually they are all being trained to be photographers. We work as a team so everyone could do pre-shooting, shooting, post-processing and retouching. The tasks for each one is different depending on each project. By the way, we are setting up the architectural videography team. We would like to experience the architecture in form of moving image too.

 

▼Part of photography works(Click here to read more)

 

Q:What preparations will you make after receiving the shooting requests? Specificallywhat communication will you have with your clients?

A:After we get the information, we have to understand the concept of the project. What are the main ideas? What are the key highlights? Most of the time the clients let us decide what we want to capture. We usually survey the site before the shoot to experience the real space and to perceive it in real light. With our experiences, it is quite easy to spot the good architectural design and idea. We just go and find the right place and the right time to capture that.

 

The latest projects by W Workspace

▼OUE Downtown – Shma(Click here to read more)

 

▼TCDC Charoenkrung – Shma (Click here to read more)

 

▼Raya heritage – boon design(Click here to read more)



Q:Architectural photography industry in Thailand has developed for a long time. How do you think of the development situation of this industry in Thailand now?

A:Architectural photography industry in Thailand is blooming right now. I think it is because of 3 things ; The real estate business is on the way up. There are many talented Thai architects nowadays. Photography is an important part of social media.

With the fast-growing economy of China, I had no doubts the architectural photography industry over there is expanding even more. I saw many great Chinese photographers lately.

 

Navana Nature Escape – A U N design studio(Click here to read more)

 

Q:The landscape architecture photos you took were widely disseminated in China, also generalized many Thai projects in the meantime. What is your opinion about this?

A:At first, I mostly take photography of architecture and interior space. I just started to shoot the first landscape architecture project, for Shma, in 2011. Before that time most Thai people didn’t really know what landscape architecture is. They thought it is just basic garden design. Since then I saw a great development. It is not just a better visual design and aesthetic but also the better environment, eco-friendly lifestyle, water preservation, social and community engagement and many more aspects. These experiences also educate me too.

 

▼Vertical Garden – Shma

An unique view in Wison Tungthunya’s eyes

 

 Q:Many people went to the project site because of a beautiful photo, but found that the actual scene was quite different from the photo, do you think a project photo should reflect the site objectively and practically?

A:This is the same problem…or question that I had when I traveled to some places that I saw the beautiful photos before and it was not the same especially the natural scene. I understand that mostly because I was not there at the best time. For me, architectural photography should capture and reflect the reality at the best moment.

Even though technically, digital photography nowadays gives photographer the power to manipulate the photos in 3 ways – The reality distortion through the lens usage, the image color adjustment and the image retouching. As photography is the art of visual perception, we have to control those adjustments at the appropriate amount. We always search for the right angle, capture it at the best moments and enhance it a bit just to show what we want to communicate.

 

Q:Do you know anything about Chinese landscape projects? Have you ever shot or wanted to shoot any projects?

A:I have seen many Chinese landscape designs. I shot some projects in China, both architecture and landscape architecture and both for Chinese and Thai architects. I wish I could have more chances to photograph more projects in China because the landscape scene is so beautiful and so different from Thailand. The landscape design is great too.

 

▼Rosewood Sanya Hotel – PLandscape(Click here to read more)

Q:We know the copyright things are very important. Could you introduce that what rights do you and your clients have to the project photos respectively?

A:Basically the photographer has the copyrights. The clients, architect firms or real estate developers, get the rights to use the photos for their communication such as their company profile, advertising or any media that they see fit to promote themselves without reselling the photos. In case they pass on the photos to the media, they could use the photos by giving us the credits and/or the link to our website. The photos must not be adjusted or manipulated in any way and definitely no watermark that credits the copyrights to another person or organization at all.

 

Read more about:W Workspace – Architectural Photography 

 


LoadingCollection

0 Comments

mooool访谈录 | 泰国W Workspace – 摄影工作室


 

W Workspace –  摄影工作室

 

mooool团队聚焦景观设计行业,致力于传播全球优秀设计理念,希望能对话更多景观延伸的细分行业,这期mooool专辑带来的是景观摄影团队专访,欢迎更多同行跟我们分享经验和想法!

主编:陈科君
执行编辑:陈虹羽

 

W Workspace由全职摄影师Wison Tungthunya于2008年创立,拍摄项目遍布泰国甚至亚洲各地。mooool网站收录了268个泰国项目,其中约四分之一的项目由W Workspace主导或参与拍摄。他们除拍摄建筑项目之外,还包括景观和室内的拍摄。工作室创始人Wison从建筑学院毕业后毫不犹豫的投入摄影行业,1997年开始为art4d杂志做拍摄工作,之后他又在平面设计、人物设计、产品设计、广告、品牌等领域都有过工作学习,结合这些丰富的行业经验,Wison经常能拍出令人耳目一新的摄影作品。

 

 

专访内容:

Q:您在建筑、平面设计、人物设计、广告、品牌等领域都有过探索学习,您认为景观建筑摄影对您的吸引力在哪?

A:我喜欢体验感强的景观和建筑,很重要的一点是我的专业背景让我更加能够理解设计师在设计过程中的想法。从事景观建筑摄影给了我一个很好的机会让我可以享受设计并捕捉那些美妙的时刻,这对我来说是很不错的选择。

 

Q:您的团队有多少人?大家的分工是怎样的?

A:我的团队刚开始只有我和我的助手两个人,那个时候我承担大部分的工作,从拍摄到后期处理再到修饰(如果需要的话)。现在我们团队加上我自己有8个人。通常情况下我们会组成3人一个小组的队伍去执行拍摄任务,他们每一个人都正被培养成为专业摄影师。因为我们是团队工作,所以所有人都会全流程参与拍摄工作(前期准备、拍摄、后期处理和修饰),每个项目的任务因项目而异。顺便告诉大家我们团队目前正在组建一个视频摄像团队,很希望能通过拍摄动态影像这种形式去体验和感受景观和建筑。

 

▼工作室部分项目展示(点击阅读更多)

 

Q:您接到客户的订单后会做哪些准备?与客户会做哪些沟通交流?

A:我们接到订单后必须先了解项目的概念,它主要的设计想法是什么?主要亮点在哪里?大多数时候是客户让我们决定了我们想要捕捉什么样的画面。通常我们在拍摄前会先勘察现场,去体验真实的空间,在真实的光线下去感知它。然后再根据我们以往的拍摄经验,就很容易发现好的设计和理念,我们只是去寻找合适的地方并在合适的时间下去捕捉那些画面。

 

W Workspace最新项目作品

▼OUE Downtown – Shma点击阅读更多

 

▼TCDC Charoenkrung – Shma (点击阅读更多

 

▼Raya heritage – boon design点击阅读更多



Q:泰国的景观建筑摄影行业发展已久,您如何看待这个行业目前在泰国的发展形势?

A:泰国的景观建筑摄影业目前正在蓬勃发展。我认为有三个原因:1、房地产业务正在不断发展。2、现在有许多有才华的泰国设计师。3、摄影是社交媒体的重要组成部分。

随着中国经济的快速增长,我也认为中国的景观建筑摄影业正在不断扩大。我最近看到了许多很棒的中国摄影师。

 

Navana Nature Escape – A U N design studio(点击阅读更多)

 

Q:你们拍摄的项目照片在中国广泛传播,由此也推广了许多泰国的景观项目,对此您有什么看法?

A:起初我主要拍摄的是建筑和室内项目。而我拍摄的第一个景观项目是2011年为Shma拍的“垂直花园 Vertical Garden”。其实在那之前大多数泰国人并不知道什么是真正的景观设计,他们认为那只是基本的花园设计。而在那之后就有了一个巨大的发展进步。这不仅是一个注重视觉美学的设计学科,还融入了生态友好型的生活方式,也包括对水资源保护、社会和社区参与度的关注以及其他更多方面的内容。在接触了很多景观项目之后,那些拍摄经历也让我备受启发。

 

▼垂直花园 Vertical Garden – Shma

Wison Tungthunya眼中的独特视角

 

 Q:您认为您的照片是否客观实际的表现了项目现场?

A:当我去一些以前看过照片的地方旅行时,我也遇到过现场不如照片美丽的问题,尤其是自然场景。其实我能理解这一点,主要是因为拍摄那张照片时我不在现场。对我来说,无论是景观摄影还是建筑摄影,都应该在最佳的时刻捕捉并反映现实场景。

虽然从技术上来说,现在的数码摄影为摄影师提供了基本的三种方式来处理照片:1、通过镜头使场景失真;2、调整图像颜色;3、图像后期修饰。但摄影是视觉感知的艺术,所以我们不能过度的对照片进行调整修饰。我们要做的是在合适的角度、在最佳的时刻去捕捉它,再进行适度的调整,以这样的方式来展示出我们想要传达的信息。

 

Q:您对中国的景观项目是否有了解?有拍摄过或想拍摄的项目吗?

A:我看过许多中国的景观设计案例,在中国也拍摄了一些建筑和景观项目,比如三亚的保利瑰丽酒店。我希望我能有更多的机会在中国拍摄更多更好的项目,中国有着和泰国很不一样的风景,不仅非常的美丽,而且那里的景观设计也很棒。

 

▼三亚保利瑰丽酒店 – PLandscape(点击阅读更多)

Q:照片版权是非常重要的,可以介绍一下摄影师与其客户对照片分别拥有哪些权利吗?

A:基本上是摄影师拥有版权。客户、设计事务所或房地产开发商有权使用这些照片进行交流,例如放在他们的公司简介、广告上或者给他们认为适合宣传自己的媒体,无需转售这些照片。如果他们把照片发给媒体,他们可以通过在照片上添加版权信息或者给链接到我们网站这样的方式来使用照片。所有的照片不得以任何方式调整或修改,绝对不能有任何水印将版权归属于其他人或组织。

 

更多:W Workspace – 摄影工作室

 


Loading收藏

0条评论